random slopes & MCMC

Welcome to the forum for runmlwin users. Feel free to post your question about runmlwin here. The Centre for Multilevel Modelling take no responsibility for the accuracy of these posts, we are unable to monitor them closely. Do go ahead and post your question and thank you in advance if you find the time to post any answers!

Go to runmlwin: Running MLwiN from within Stata >> http://www.bristol.ac.uk/cmm/software/runmlwin/
Tami90unikoeln

random slopes & MCMC

Post by Tami90unikoeln »

Hey there,

I am new to runmlwin and encountered some problems I just can't figure out. I want to fit a two-level mutli level model with a binary dependent variable.

(1) I received an error message when I tried using MCMC estimation: Could not load plugin: c:\ado\plus\r\runmlwin_mcmcdiagnpstic . I am using MlwiN trial version 2.36 (it automatically downloaded the 32-bit version). Is there also a 64 bit version? Because my laptop is 64 bit and I am also using stata 14 64-bit version. Is this connected to the problem? Because some else posted the same question and was offered a solution but this didn't work (downloading a 64-bit version of the plugin). My checksum delivered: ...runmlwin_mcmcdiagnostic.plugin=2589902397, size=53248.

(2) I wnated to fit random slope models using mcmc. Mcmc as described in (1) did not work. So i thought I will use quasi-likelihood estimation first. However, when I was introducing two random slopes (so set the slopes for two individual variables at random) the model reported some errors. I used the following command:

runmlwin unempl one female young old second nonwest leduc meduc genatt_cc gdp14_cc c.genatt_cc#i.leduc c_genatt_cc#i.meduc, ///
level2(cntry: one leduc meduc) level1(id:) discrete(distribution(binominal) link(logit) denom(one)) mcmc(on) initsprevious nopause nogroup

Is there anything wrong with it? In a previous model where I only use one random slope the mdel could be estimated.