Page 1 of 2

Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:13 pm
by kathrynmbarker
Hello,

Has anyone come across the following error using runmlwin (and if so, could you please share a suggested remedy)?

<3 invalid name

I get this after running the following code for a null model:

Code: Select all

runmlwin bpitot cons, level1(ccmmid:cons) nopause
Thank you!

Re: Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:48 pm
by ChrisCharlton
I have not come across this before. Could you enter the command:

Code: Select all

set trace on
prior to running the -runmlwin- command, and then post the lines displayed before the error message?

Re: Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:10 pm
by kathrynmbarker
Hi Chris,

Thanks so much for your help. I ran the following code:

Code: Select all

ssc install runmlwin
global MLwiN path "C:\Program Files\MLwiN v3.00\mlwin.exe"
set trace on
runmlwin bpitot cons, level1(ccmmid:cons)
And got this result:
<3 invalid name
r(198);

I have noticed from other posts that there are sometimes problems with variable labels but I cannot see any obvious problems. I'm using Stata/SE14.0, 32 bit Windows 7.

Thanks,
Kate

Re: Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:51 pm
by ChrisCharlton
There should be some lines higher up indicating where in the code the error is occurring. Can you provide these? Alternatively could you create a Stata log file where you run with command with trace on and post that?

Re: Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:04 am
by wallace89
Hi,
I have the same problem. I run the following code and give me the same error message: invalid name

quietly runmlwin aspiration cons unemployment, ///
level3(CODICE_SCUOLA: cons, residuals(u)) ///
level2(CODICE_CLASSE: cons) ///
level1(CODICE_STUDENTE) ///
discrete(dist(multinomial) link(mlogit) denom(cons) basecategory(1)) ///
nopause

* Fit the previous model by MCMC.
runmlwin aspiration cons unemployment, ///
level3(CODICE_SCUOLA: cons, residuals(u)) ///
level2(CODICE_CLASSE: cons) ///
level1(CODICE_STUDENTE) ///
discrete(dist(multinomial) link(mlogit) denom(cons) basecategory(1)) ///
mcmc(orthogonal) initsprevious ///
nopause nogroup

Re: Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:38 pm
by ChrisCharlton
I don't see this message with any of the examples that I have. Could you please make sure that your version of -runmlwin- is up to date, and if so provide the output with trace on where the message is generated?

Re: Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:12 pm
by kathrynmbarker
ChrisCharlton wrote: Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:51 pm There should be some lines higher up indicating where in the code the error is occurring. Can you provide these? Alternatively could you create a Stata log file where you run with command with trace on and post that?
Hi Chris,

Here is the output from the log (wouldn't let me attach .smcl, so put it in a word doc). I see the error message on page 41. Thanks for your guidance on next steps.

Re: Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:26 pm
by ChrisCharlton
Thank you for this. It appears that the lines causing the error are:

Code: Select all

- if `mlwinversion' < 3 & `:list x in newvars' & "`:type `x''" == "double" {
    = if  < 3 & 0 & "double" == "double" {
<3 invalid name
    quietly recast float `x', force
    display as error "`xname' has more precision that MLwiN can handle, forcing to float"
  }
  local ++i
}
This is related to checking the version of the software that is installed. Looking further up in your output it seems that you have set the path for MLwiN with:

Code: Select all

global MLwiN path "C:\Program Files\MLwiN v3.00\mlwin.exe"
rather than

Code: Select all

global MLwiN_path "C:\Program Files\MLwiN v3.00\mlwin.exe"
(Note the underscore in MLwiN_path).

This results in the global that -runmlwin- is expecting to see not existing. If i unset this on my machine I get the same error message as you did.

If you simply use the expected global name then this should fix the problem for you, and I will look into updating the software in future to provide a more useful error message when this situation occurs.

Re: Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:31 pm
by kathrynmbarker
Many thanks!

Re: Error: <3 invalid name

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:19 am
by janna
Hello,

for some reason, runmlwin is not working anymore (it did so until October). I keep getting the error "....invalid name:"

Code: Select all

. global MLwiN_path       "/mlwin/mac/mlnscript"

. runmlwin normexam cons standlrt, level2(school: cons) level1(student: cons) nopause
 
... invalid name
I did uninstall and reinstall the runmlwin.ado. I am using the mlnscript version since I am working on a mac - so far it worked, but something must have changed during the last weeks! Thanks very much for advice!