Need help with using R2MLwiN

Welcome to the forum for R2MLwiN users. Feel free to post your question about R2MLwiN here. The Centre for Multilevel Modelling take no responsibility for the accuracy of these posts, we are unable to monitor them closely. Do go ahead and post your question and thank you in advance if you find the time to post any answers!

Go to R2MLwiN: Running MLwiN from within R >> http://www.bris.ac.uk/cmm/software/r2mlwin/
helenezyf

Need help with using R2MLwiN

Post by helenezyf »

I'm new to R2MLwiN, and my laptop is MacOS in version 13.5.2. I downloaded the MLwiN 30-day free trial version and got the "MLwiN-30-day.msi" file. Then, I extracted all the files from this msi file, and I found that the only ".exe" file included is "w32_mlwin.exe". Then I run the following commands in R:

library(R2MLwiN)
options(MLwiN_path="/Users/Documents/MLwiN-30-day/w32_mlwin.exe")
data(tutorial)
model_1 <- runMLwiN(normexam ~ cons + standlrt + (1 | student), data = tutorial)

But I got the error message saying "Error in runMLwiN(normexam ~ cons + standlrt + (1 | student), data = tutorial) : /Users/Documents/MLwiN-30-day/w32_mlwin.exe is not executable"

Could someone who is familiar with this help me with it? Really appreciate it!
ChrisCharlton

Re: Need help with using R2MLwiN

Post by ChrisCharlton »

Although we do provide a Mac-native scripting version of MLwiN with the full version of the software this is unfortunately not the case with the 30-day trial. In order to run this on a Mac you will either need to install it in a Windows virtual machine or via Wine (see https://www.bristol.ac.uk/cmm/software/ ... ysreq.html). The community version of Wine (see https://www.winehq.org/) does not currently have official support for MacOS over version 10.14 so if you wanted a supported platform you would need to look into Crossover (see https://www.codeweavers.com/crossover).
helenezyf

Post by helenezyf »

Hi Chris! Thanks for the reply!